Erasing All Data from the Product (WF-C879R)

If you are giving away or disposing of your product, we recommend that you erase all data from the product.
  1. Press the  home button, if necessary.
  2. Select Settings > General Settings > System Administration > Restore Default Settings. You see a screen like this:


  3. Select Clear All Data and Settings.
  4. Select Yes. When all settings have been restored, a message appears about restarting the product, and the System Administration screen returns.
  5. Select Clear Internal Memory Data > Delete All Internal Memory Jobs > Yes. When the memory has been cleared, a completion message appears.
  6. Select the back arrow.
  7. Select HDD Erase Settings > Erase All Memory.
  8. Do one of the following:
    • Select High Speed to perform a quick format on the encrypted hard drive. Data recovery is still possible if you select this option.
    • Select Overwrite to perform a full format on the encrypted hard drive and rewrite all data with zeroes. This process takes approximately 2.5 hours and data recovery is not possible. Select this option to fully erase anything you have stored, such as sensitive data.
    • Select Triple Overwrite to erase all data with a dedicated erase command. This process takes approximately 2.5 hours and data recovery is not possible. Select this option to perform an additional level of data erasure.
  9. Select Yes to continue.
  10. Press the  home button to return to the home screen.
  11. Turn the product off and on again to ensure the data is erased.
Was this page helpful? Yes or No.
Privacy Policy | Your California Privacy Rights | Terms of Use